Owori Mang’eni, Maggie Reinsvold, Regina Richards, Susan Anduaga, Chase Yarbro

DENVER – The CU School of Medicine (SOM) Office of Diversity and Inclusion in partnership with the Blair Caldwell African American Research Library hosted the annual (now combined) SOM Justina Ford and Florence Sabin Scholarship Recipients Reception on May 16 in Denver’s historic Five Points.

(Photo L to R: Owori Mang’eni, Maggie Reinsvold, Regina Richards (Director, SOM Office of Diversity and Inclusion), Susan Anduaga, Chase Yarbrough)

Dr. Justina Ford was the first African American physician in Denver who served the disadvantaged and underserved of all races. Her home (located at 30th and California St., in Denver ) is the historical Black American West Museum and Heritage Center.

Dr. Florence Sabin is the famous Colorado public health pioneer who, in 1946, was asked by Colorado Governor John Vivian to head the state health committee and was later appointed Denver’s Manager of Health and Charities. She also was the first woman to hold a full professorship at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore.

Representatives from CU and the historic Five Points community gathered to recognize the following medical students:

Justina Ford Scholarships
Shauna Seaman
Susan Anduaga
Monica Salazar
Owori Mang’eni

Florence Sabin Scholarships
Darren Eblovi
Chase Yarbrough
Margaret Emmott
Madeline Cole
Magdelena Reinsvold


Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045