As a result of Colorado voters’ approval in November to legalize the personal use of marijuana , Gov. John Hickenlooper signed Amendment 64 last month. In conjunction with signing Amendment 64 into law, he signed an Executive Order creating a task force to recommend needed legislate actions.

“Task Force members are charged with finding practical and pragmatic solutions to the challenges of implementing Amendment 64 while at all times respecting the diverse perspectives that each member will bring to the work of the task force,” the Executive Order says. “The Task Force shall respect the will of the voters of Colorado and shall not engage in a debate of the merits of marijuana legalization or Amendment 64.” The group will consider and resolve a number of policy, legal and procedural issues, involving various interests and stakeholders, to implement the new constitutional amendment.
Christian Thurstone
Named to the task force was Christian Thurstone, MD, associate professor in the CU School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry, for his expertise in the treatment of marijuana addiction. Just this past October, Thurstone was recognized by the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) for exemplary work in furthering the goals of the President’s National Control Strategy.

Task force members expect to form working groups comprised of persons with subject matter expertise to aid in the group’s overall work. University of Colorado Denver l Anschutz Medical Campus colleagues named to join the working groups are:

Jeremy Nemeth Jeremy Németh, chair and assistant professor of Planning and Design, College of Architecture and Planning, has been named by the Governor to the Task Force for Amendment 64 Regulatory Framework Committee.

Kari Franson Laura BorgeltKari Franson (photo above left), PharmD, PhD, associate dean for Professional Education and Laura Borgelt (photo above right), PharmD, associate professor, both in the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences to participate in the Consumer Safety-Social Issues working group.

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045