Office of Diversity and Inclusion hosts luncheon for honorees
By Amanda Heersink | University Communications

AURORA, Colo. – Diversity is a very important aspect of our world and a priority at the University of Colorado Denver l Anschutz Medical Campus. During today’s Chancellor’s Diversity Recognition and Awards Luncheon eight honorees were presented awards for their achievement in diversity. 

Outstanding faculty awards were presented to Shawna McMahon, PhD, LAB-COATS coordinator; and Eileen Thomas, PhD, College of Nursing.

Awards for outstanding staff efforts were presented to Jennifer Pacheco, School of Public Health; Ron Washington, Facilities Management; and Deidre Houston Magee, PhD, School of Medicine.

There were two outstanding program awards, the first presented to Abenicio Rael and Larry Armenta, Center for Pre-Collegiate and Academic Outreach Program. And the second, a students’ group award, was presented to Jim Do, Tate VanWinkle, Timothy Ung and Ian Abeyta for their work with the MCAT Study Academy.

Chancellor Don Elliman addressed the gathering about the importance of diversity in today’s world. “Diversity is critical at all levels,” Elliman said, “please continue to push us down this path.”

Elliman also spoke about how much the world has changed since he graduated from college. He recalled that when women went in for a job interview they typically were asked how fast they could type because ‘secretary’ was the only job for which they were considered.

The luncheon was hosted by the Office of Diversity and Inclusion whose mission is to instill diversity into the institutional consciousness. Overall, the team from the office wanted to express their thanks to the faculty, staff and students who are encouraging diversity to grow and flourish in our university.


Contact: [email protected] ​​​

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045