AURORA, Colo. – The CU Anschutz Medical Campus Office of Diversity and Inclusion has changed the name to the Office of Inclusion and Outreach.

Under the leadership of Dominic Martinez, this name change better captures the mission and objectives of the office, which include:

1. Enhance diversity university-wide and foster a culture of inclusion and cultural competence.

2. Provide innovative lifelong learning opportunities to prospective and current students from underrepresented backgrounds.

3. Offer development and training for faculty and staff.

“We also want to eliminate confusion regarding the executive Office of Diversity and Inclusion that recently came under the leadership of Brenda J. Allen, PhD, as well as other departments or programs on both campuses that have similar names,” Martinez said. 

The other offices that are doing related work and providing such services, Martinez noted, are in the School of Medicine as the Office of Diversity and Inclusion and the School of Education and Human Development’s Office of Diversity and Inclusion. 

In conjunction with the office name change, Martinez has been promoted from director to senior director of the Office of Inclusion and Outreach. In addition to Martinez’s current duties, he will help develop programs and initiatives between CU Denver’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) programs and departments and related areas at the Anschutz Medical campus. He also will serve as the liaison between Student Affairs and the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, and he will work on special projects assigned by the Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion.


Contact: [email protected]

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045