Kathy Magilvy accepts her awardAURORA, Colo. – Kathy Magilvy, PhD, RN, FAAN, professor and associate dean for Academic Programs, College of Nursing (CON), received the Jo Eleanor Elliott Leadership Award at the Western Institute of Nursing (WIN) 46th Annual Communicating Nursing Research Conference, held in Anaheim, Calif.

The award was presented to Magilvy by Judith Berg, PhD, president of WIN, along with Marie Lobo, PhD, WIN president-elect, who nominated Magilvy. The award plaque stated, “In recognition of her outstanding leadership in the organization and for NEXus, the Nursing Education Xchange.”

This annual award was established in the name of Jo Eleanor Elliott, the first executive director of WIN and a national nursing leader. In 1999, Magilvy received WIN’s Anna M. Shannon Mentorship Award.

Judith Berg, Kathy Magilvy and Marie Lobo at WIN conferenceThirty-five College of Nursing (CON) faculty, staff, and graduate students, one of the college’s largest contingents ever, attended the WIN 46th Annual Communicating Nursing Research Conference this year.

Accompanying CON Dean Sarah Thompson were 18 faculty, including: Drs. Karen Sousa, Pei-Ying Chuang, Daniel Cline, Jennifer Disabato, Linda Flynn, Bonnie Gance-Cleveland, Lynn Gilbert, Scott Harpin, Jacqueline Jones, Jane Kass-Wolf, Ernestine Kotthoff-Burrell, Nancy Lowe, Magilvy, Ellyn Matthews, Madalynn Neu, Leli Pedro, Marylou Robinson, Teresa Sakraida, and Sarah Schmiege. Dr. Oliwier Dziadkowiec, new director of the college’s Center for Nursing Research, also attended. Fourteen graduate students participated in the conference, including: Lynn Andrus, Yuki Asakura, Debra Bailey, Armi Earlam, Dana El Hajj, Jesse Francomano, Kristine Gauthier, Lenka Heller, Michaela McCarthy, Tanya Moore-Davis, September Nelson, Sharon Ruyak, Traci Snedden, and Marleen Thornton.

Thompson also hosted a networking reception at the conference and met with local alumni and donors during a CON-sponsored luncheon.

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045