Kathryn Mueller, MD, MPH, FACEP, FACEOMKathryn Mueller, MD, MPH, FACEP, FACEOM, professor in the School of Medicine Department of Emergency Medicine and Colorado School of Public Health​, has received the Francis Perkins award from the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions (IAIABC) for her more the two decades of work in workers’ compensation.

She continues her work in this field by assisting other states in understand the implementation and management of treatment guidelines.

In announcing the honor, IAIABC noted Mueller’s “leadership as a forward-thinker in the area of occupational medicine is second to none.”

Mueller has served as the medical director at the Colorado Division of Workers’ compensation since 1992. While medical director, Mueller has worked to make Colorado one of the first states to adopt evidence-based medicine treatment protocols. These guidelines are used in Colorado as well as many other states as a basis of care for work-related injuries.

Overall, these efforts have and continues to help support a high quality of medical care for injured workers across North America.

IAIABC is an association of government agencies that administer and regulate their local jurisdiction’s workers’ compensation acts. Since its inception, the IAIABC has focused on improving and clarifing laws, identify model laws and procedures, and supporting education and information sharing.

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045