The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) announced Paula Riggs, MD, School of Medicine professor and director of the Division of Substance Dependence, Department of Psychiatry, is the Elaine Schlosser Lewis Awardee for Research on Attention-Deficit Disorder.

Riggs receives the award in recognition for her paper, “Randomized Controlled Trial of Osmotic-Release Methylphenidate With Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy in Adolescents With Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder and Substance Use Disorders,” published in the September 2011 issue of the Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (JAACAP).

The AACAP Elaine Schlosser Lewis Award for Research on Attention-Deficit Disorder was established through support of the Elaine Schlosser Lewis Fund in 1994. The award of $5,000 is given annually for the best paper published in JAACAP on attention-deficit disorder, written by a child and adolescent psychiatrist, and published between July 2011 and June 2012. This award is named in memory of Dr. Owen Lewis’s late mother, Elaine Schlosser Lewis, who was a teacher and advocate on behalf of children.

Riggs recently presented her paper at AACAP’s 59th Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Representing more than 8,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists nationwide, the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) is the leading authority on children’s mental health. AACAP Members actively research, diagnose and treat psychiatric disorders affecting children, adolescents and their families.

By providing one award to a child and adolescent psychiatry junior faculty member or resident for pilot research on attention disorders, the Foundation supports a young investigator at a critical stage, encouraging a future career in child and adolescent psychiatry research.

For more information visit

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045