The School of Medicine 2014 Annual Golden Stethoscope Preceptors Awards were announced last week. It was the fifth annual “Golden Stethoscope,” but the 20th opportunity to thank the many individual physicians who precept students a half day a week for three (sometimes four) years in their offices or clinics.

These awards honor excellence in clinical education and recognize the preceptors’ outstanding contributions to the next generation of physicians. Students nominate their preceptors and the competition challenging.

In Dean Richard Krugman’s recent enewsletter, he noted that several of the physicians honored “have been preceptors every one of the 20 years! We owe all of them our thanks.”

This year’s recipients are:

  • Emergency Medicine – JP Brewer, MD
  • Family Medicine – Daniel Kortsch, MD
  • Internal Medicine – Amber Wobbekind, MD
  • OB/GYN – Ken Moss, MD
  • Patient/Physician Communications – Anthony Elias, MD
  • Pediatric – Tai Lockspeiser, MD
  • Physical Exam – Karin Susskind, MD
  • Role Model – Susan Ryan, DO
  • Specialty – Kimi Kondo, DO
  • Foundations of Doctoring Faculty Choice Award – Jerome Buckley, MD
  • Kris Wenzel Award – Bobbi Siegel, MSW

David Schwartz, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine, recently received the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation’s Annual Award for significant and unique contributions in Science and Medicine. This award is a tribute to Schwartz’s lifetime of work and he joins a roster of other distinguished faculty members, including David Talmage, MD, Theodore Puck, PhD, and Henry Claman, MD, to be recognized with the award, which is sometimes called “Colorado’s Nobel Prize.”

Also of note, Schwartz will be adding a new title, interim director of the Center for Personalized Medicine and Biomedical Informatics, while the search for a director restarts.

Marc Moss, MD, professor of medicine, was elected secretary-treasurer of the American Thoracic Society for 2014-15. The election puts him on a path to become president of the group in 2017-18. In addition to Moss, other society board members from Colorado are Robin Deterding, MD, professor of pediatrics and chair of the society’s pediatrics assembly; Greg Downey, MD, professor of immunology and chair of the society’s allergy, immunology, and inflammation assembly; and James Beck, MD, professor of medicine and chair of the society’s planning and evaluation committee.

Office of University Communications

CU Anschutz
Building 500

13001 East 17th Place

Room CG009

Aurora, CO 80045