View the list of all 213 honorees here.

More than 200 faculty from both the Denver and Anschutz campuses celebrated recent career milestones at the annual Tenure and Promotion Luncheon on Monday in the Trivisible Room on the Anschutz Medical Campus.

The awarding of tenure, CU Anschutz Medical Campus Chancellor Don Elliman told the gathering, is not a “given.” Beyond the required demonstration of “meritorious performance in teaching, research or creative work, and service,” Elliman said, “there is an interdependence between your individual contributions and our strength as a university. We award tenure and promotion to signal our confidence that you can and will accept your full measure of responsibility for the future well-being of the university.”

Provost and Acting CU Denver Chancellor Roderick Nairn, PhD, who administers the tenure and promotion process, reflected on his own experience. “After more than three decades in academic life I can truly tell you that among the most exciting and meaningful milestones for me were the achievement of tenure and promotion. I can’t remember a more anxious time in my life than those periods where I awaited word about promotion…”

Nairn commended the faculty on their work. “You are providing the nation and the world with its most precious asset: your creativity and your discovery of new knowledge. You are helping to create the future – one of the main purposes of any university. And you are doing it at an institution that needs and values that contribution.”

Read the list of 213 faculty who received tenure or promotion here.